Tuesday, May 11, 2010

The Groundhopper Awards 2009/2010

Best Game: Kirkby Town 3 Louth Town 2 or Wollaton 4 Magdala 6 (goal whoring that day)

Goal of the Season: Scott Pratt's 40 yard, vicious dipping netbuster for Kirkby Town.

Favourite Team: Staveley Miners' Welfare.

Best Team Performance: Dunkirk's 4-0 whooping of Rainworth in the Notts Senior Cup

Worst Game: Rocester 0 Coventry Spinhx 1

Best Pub: Bulls Head in Tintwhistle (on the way to Droylsden)

Best Cup of Tea: Linby Colliery Welfare (almost perfect)

Best Playing Surface: North Ferriby

Most Welcoming Club: Staveley MW or New Mills

Best Programme: New Mills

Norman Hunter Services to Foul Play Award: Maltby Main

Favourite Clubhouse 1st Stocksbridge Steels 2nd Droylsden

Best New Ground Visited: Winterton Rangers

Best New Pro Ground Visited: City of Manchester Stadium.

Best Pro Player: Carlos Tevez (Sensational)

Best DJ: North Ferriby. Played Joy Division, Simple Minds and The Cure.

Favourite Character: Dorset John who we met in Blaby.

Johan Cruyff Total Football: Dunkirk's performance at Rainworth.

Most Picturesque Ground: Attenborough.

Hardest Ground to Find: Northampton Spencer (was scouting and put wrong code in Sat Nav)

Best Supporters: FC United, followed closely by Shepshed Dynamo.

Best Message Board in the World: Notts Senior League.

Man of the Match: Trumpy Bolton.

All Star X1

Matt Trott Didcot Town

Ludovic Quistin FC United

Tony Boulton Bilborough Pelican

Dan Smith Caribbean Cavaliers

Frankie Belt Bridlington Town

Anton Foster Eastwood Town (Captain)

Carl Haslam Kirkby Town (shortly Blidworth MW bound)

Jamie Jackson Sheffield FC (now Worksop)

Lee Gregory Staveley MW (now Mansfield Town)

Lee Day Dunkirk

Ady Carter Notts Police (not bad for a rozzer)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Ian Holloway, Manager of the Season !!